Home

The first twin bed was too soft. $240.64 from R&S Mattress.

The second bed was too hard. Add $76.18 = $320.82.

The third bed was too lumpy. Traded from bed number two.

So now I have added $81.55 to upgrade to bed number four. Total – $402.37.

My daughter says she paid $450 for a twin bed in Virginia.  I checked with a competitor of R&S, and they wanted more money than R&S for a lesser mattress.  I asked the owner of that other store why their are so many mattress stores around.  He replied, “Because it is so lucrative.”

RIGHT!  $450 for something that probably cost a hundred bucks to make!  But, they had me over a barrel..

I got to thinking that some of our ancient ancestors must have slept on the ground, and soldiers still do. While I was waiting for the newest bed to arrive, I spread a blanket on the floor just to see if I could handle that. My daughter is a chiropractor, so I asked her if she ever recommended sleeping on the floor to any of her patients. She answered, “Lol! No I haven’t. But I Have had a few who said they preferred it.”

“Early beds were little more than piles of straw or some other natural material. An important change was raising them off the ground, to avoid drafts, dirt, and pests. Bedding dated around to 3600 B.C.E was discovered in Sibudu Cave, South Africa. Beds found in a preserved northern Scottish village, which were raised boxes made of stone and likely topped with comfortable fillers, were dated to between 3200 BC and 2200 BC.” (Wikipedia)

All my latest beds were made by Brooklyn Bedding. This newest version came rolled up in a box. On the receipt it says I have now bought a “Special Order Custom” mattress.

I unrolled it. Then left for the gym.

It has now expanded to just over 9″ high. On the tag it says “Arctic Dream 10″. Polyurethane foam.

I’ll let it fill out just a tad more before I put sheets on it.

Wish me luck.

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

