Home

When I was about 30 years old, I was working at Wallich’s Music City in Hollywood. I wrote out my will on a sheet of yellow legal paper, and had the department manager witness it.

25 May 1976 – I do hereby leave this as my last will and testament. . . . . Keep all services and burial simple. Use NO chemicals. Use the cheapest casket. The service will last as long as the Beatles record, Sgt. Pepper, which will play in the background. Use no burial vault. After the services, enjoy a party, on me. Play Beatles music and serve ice cream and 7-Up. Spend at least $1000 in 1976 dollars.

At the time, I thought Sgt. Pepper was the greatest record ever made. I still think that 50 years after its initial release in 1967.

To celebrate this historical moment, Universal Music is releasing the most incredible reissue in history, May 26, 2017.

According to Artist Direct, “Also available will be a super deluxe six-disc box set. . . . The fifth and sixth discs boast surround-sound audio mixes of the album on Blu-ray and DVD, as well as promo films for several tracks and a restored version of the 1992 documentary, The Making of Sgt. Pepper. . . . The three deluxe editions of the album will contain previously unreleased, and complete takes of all 13 famous album tracks.”

Okay family, let’s revise my will to include all of the above!

My advanced directive now calls for my body to be donated to science, so their will be no casket or funeral per se. However, I am making an emotional and earnest appeal for ALL family members to gather in one place for a memorial service – probably a Golden Corral – and play all these new CDs and video.

CELEBRATE!

-30-

April 4, 1964 – The Fab Four’s fab five: Songs by The Beatles infused the Billboard Hot 100’s entire top five, the only week that an act has monopolized the chart’s top five positions. “Can’t Buy Me Love”, Twist and Shout”, “She Loves You”, “I Want to Hold Your Hand” and “Please Please Me”. The headline on page 1 of Billboard that week? “Chart Crawls With Beatles.”

 

Leave a Reply

