Home

So, this brand new health food store opens just a few blocks away and I can’t wait to get there. Snow is everywhere, but the parking lot is full. That has to be a good sign!

As expected, the prices are quite high, but I manage to find a couple of things to my liking.

gottogetBy signing up for mailings, I get periodic coupons. At least two free items each flier. One coupon is for a free bottle of EVERYONE SOAP 3 in 1 shampoo, body wash, and bubble bath. Regular price about ten bucks. I like this stuff so much I go back and buy two more bottles during a subsequent visit. The price has been reduced to about seven or eight dollars.

After the euphoria dies down, I take a look at the ingredients. Got to be good, right?

When choosing foods, I go by the health food mantra, “If you can’t pronounce it, don’t eat.” Not that I am going to eat my EVERYONE SOAP, but I find the ingredients just a bit fascinating: Purified Water, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Sodium Chloride, Coco-Glucoside, Panthenol, EO Essential Oil Blend [Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil], EO Organic Herbal Blend [Organic Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Organic Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Organic Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract and Organic Camelia Sinensis Leaf Extract], Citric Acid, Sodium Phytate, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Tocopherol.

My spell checker stumbles on most of those words! Even the definitions opened my eyes. “Cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine (CAHS) is a synthetic amphoteric surfactant from the hydroxysultaine group. It is found in personal care products (soaps, shampoos, lotions etc.).[1] It has uses as a foam booster, viscosity builder, and an antistatic agent (Wikipedia).”

Sodium phytate is “The salt form of the corn-derived plant component phytic acid, modified to become a synthetic ingredient and used as a chelating agent in cosmetics (Wiki).”

I mean, even the definitions are hard to digest! 🙂 Even my word processors stumbled when I attempted to cut and paste these mouthfuls!

By the way, the last couple of bottles of GT’S KOMBUCHA tasted like mud.

Oh, well.

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

