Home

It all started back in July of 2004 with prostate cancer. A team of doctors implanted 35(?) radioactive seeds, and I haven’t been the same since!

Then, about 2009 or 2010, I had my first skin cancer procedure. Just a small dig in my back, but it had to be cut twice to get it all. Then, the top of my head in 2012, my right jaw in 2013, my right ear in 2014, my left eyebrow in 2015, and the granddaddy of them all, back to the top of my head in August of 2016. A squamous cell carcinoma here, a melanoma there, and a basal call carcinoma just for good measure.

Wednesday, January 12, 2016, I was diagnosed with either superficial basal cell carcinoma or solar keratoses, I don’t know which.

sunshineEither way, the bite seems worse than the bark. This time, Fluorouracil cream has been prescribed, instead of an operation. The skin on my head is not only going to look like leprosy, it is going to feel like “burning, crusting, redness, discoloration, irritation, pain, itching, rash, or soreness” WebMD.

The doctor’s office gave me a paper describing the treatment.

To put it simply, I am scared.

When the pharmacist gave me the medication, he said his father had the same treatment, and it was horrible. No sleep. No comfort.

Maybe I should just let nature take its own course? I am 71 years old with a bad heart. Surely my heart will give out before this disease eats my face away? Maybe I should give up the stringent diet various doctors have given me and just eat and be merry.

Today, I just have to sit and wait until two biopsies come back from the lab. Can’t start the cream until the doctors decide if I need one or two more operations.

I don’t know what to say.

-30-

 

2 thoughts on “Ain’t no sunshine

  1. Jennifer wrote, “A second and maybe even third opinion might be a good idea. Possibly, there are other options or solutions. Also, when it is defined what you have, might be worth looking up homeopathic remedies. Big hug! Hang in there!!!”

    Like

  2. Marjie wrote, “you wrote, “No comment” And I truly do not know what to say.” I explained, “No, what I meant was that “I” do not have any comment. I absolutely welcome all others!” I have since edited the article to read, “I don’t know what to say.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

