Home

silverbells1Somewhere in my childhood, I fell in love with silver dollars. We used to call them “cartwheels.” Our family wasn’t rich, so I never developed a hobby of collecting them, just admiring them.

A few years ago, I mounted a silver dollar in my belt buckle. I must say, I wear that thing with pride!

We started collecting ingots in the 70’s but wouldn’t you know it we had to sell our commemoratives for cash to pay the bills!

For a number of years, TV and print ads have been telling us the economy is going to collapse. Better get some gold and silver to stash under our mattress. Sorry, I ain’t got no money, honey!

Lately though, I started thinking, “Why not start collecting silver dollars!!” One dollar at a time. Surely that wouldn’t cost an arm and a leg!

Maybe five years ago, I was able to visit my local Wells Fargo bank and pick up a silver dollar or two. No longer. I’ve learned to save a lot of gas money by calling the banks ahead of time now. “Sorry, we haven’t seen any of those for years!”

Silver speculators, don’t you know.

silverbellsxSo, the other day when I see silver dollars on Amazon.com for ONLY $5.59 each, of course I bought four of the shiny baubles!

AFTER I placed my order, I thought about visiting my local coin shop. I hadn’t been then earlier, because I just knew their prices would be higher.

Not so!

silverbellsIf I buy ten of the “common” silver dollars, I pay . . . . . . drum roll please . . . . . . . . ONE DOLLAR EACH!!!

Oh, I know these aren’t the REAL collectables. Those have a ton more silver content. They aren’t wafers with copper in the middle. Still, the common variety DO qualify as “Silver Dollars!” I’m going to go back and buy ten more! Just because I can!

Of course I contact Amazon so I can return my four expensive dollars. I am directed to the fine print, however, “While most sellers offer a returns policy equivalent to Amazon.com’s, some seller returns policies may vary. You can view the Seller’s return policy before you purchase an item.” BEFORE you purchase? Who does that!

Caveat emptor!

-30-

2 thoughts on “Silver Bells

  1. Amazon wrote: I’m sorry to hear about the problem you’ve had with your 1 U.S. Eisenhower Ike $1 Dollar Coin 1971 to 1978 Collectors Coin..

    On this occasion, we don’t require you to return the original. You’re welcome to keep, donate or dispose of it – whichever option is most appropriate and convenient for you.

    I’ve requested a refund for 22.36 USD, which includes the cost of the item and its associated shipping costs. This refund will go through within the next 3-5 business days and will appear as a credit on your billing statement. Please note that this does not include your bank’s processing time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

