Home

If you don’t believe in Santa Claus, he won’t visit.

If you can’t see your goal clearly, you will never achieve it.

Today, I turn seventy-one, and I speak from experience. The time has come to stop pushing my string up the hill.

santa

If you can’t push, drag, and pull your dream up the hill, it will get stuck in the heavy dirt of the road. If you don’t find an innovative way to get that wagon moving again, it will sink lower and lower into the dirt, and you will never be able to move it.

A coach saw me run a 50 yard dash faster than any of my classmates. When the next track meet came up, he put me in the mile relay. All I had to do was run 220 yards. I didn’t think I could – or wanted to – and I embarrassed myself, my coach, my team, and my school by quitting half-way around the curve in the track. Could I have finished? Probably. SHOULD I have finished – or collapsed trying? Damn straight!

I didn’t have all my ducks in a row when I started my first business. I ran out of steam, and the business dwindled into the size of a hatbox.

bballI’ve played competitive basketball for decades. Lately, the 20-somethings don’t feed me the ball any more. As much as I love the game, I am going to sit this exhausted body down. It isn’t fun any more. If it isn’t fun, then I can’t crank up the emotion, or the desire to pull the wagon up the hill.

I might take a ball to an empty court some day, but even that is doubtful. An empty basketball court is as lonely as the dirt road with the stuck wagon.

I have a lot of extra equipment to support the team, but it is time to divvy up the spoils – except for the one basketball that I will keep.

One last homily – Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right.

-30-

2 thoughts on “Santa Claus is coming to town

Leave a Reply

