Home

When I was fresh out of high school in 1963, I drew up a list of goals.

Of course, one of my main goals was to buy a house for my mother – I suppose everyone includes that one.

High on the list was my desire to own a Rolls Royce Silver Cloud III.  I figured that had to be the best car in the world.

Then, I saw a 1959 Cadillac sedan, complete with monstrous tail fins and chrome – lots and lots of chrome!

BeepBeepCaddy

That Caddy has to be the quintessential automobile of all time – in the entire world.  It’s number one on my bucket list and birthday wish list.

It reeks “Made in America.”

It is absolutely the most unique mass production car to ever roll off an assembly line.  On the other hand, the Rolls Royce is often confused with the Bentley, and vice versa.

I am also being influenced by my Dad’s 1960 Cad.  It was a monster, and when he sped around curves, it produced the desired effect on my mother – sheer panic.  Me too.DadCad1

Those cars had a really awesome feature – a light on the dashboard that read oncoming headlights, and responded by dimming the Caddy headlights.  We should have such a thing now!

The lyrics.net website found  3,127 lyrics, 13 artists, and 41 albums that mention Cadillac, so I guess I am not alone.

The first Caddy song that comes to mind is Beep Beep by the Playmates.  (In England, they had to change the lyrics to “limousine” and “bubble car” instead of Cadillac and Nash Rambler.  LOL!)

[Very Slow]
While riding in my Cadillac,
What to my surprise.
A little Nash Rambler was following me –
About one third my size.
The guy must’ve wanted to pass me up
As he kept on tooting his horn. Beep! Beep!
I’ll show him that a Cadillac
Is not a car to scorn.
Beep Beep. Beep! Beep! Beep Beep. Beep! Beep!
His horn went Beep Beep beep. Beep! Beep!

BeepBeep

[Slow]
I pushed my foot down to the floor
To give the guy the shake.
But the little Nash Rambler stayed right behind;
He still had on his brake.
He must have thought his car had more guts
As he kept on tooting his horn. Beep! Beep!
I’ll show him that a Cadillac
Is not a car to scorn.
Beep Beep. Beep! Beep! Beep Beep. Beep! Beep!
His horn went Beep Beep beep. Beep! Beep!
[Normal]
My car went into passing gear
And we took off with gust.
Soon we were doing ninety –
Must’ve left him in the dust.
When I peeked in the mirror of my car,
I couldn’t believe my eyes:
The little Nash Rambler was right behind –
I think that guy could fly.
Beep Beep. Beep! Beep! Beep Beep. Beep! Beep!
His horn went Beep Beep beep.
[Faster]
Now we’re doing a hundred and ten –
This certainly was a race.
For a Rambler to pass a Caddy
Would be a big disgrace.
The guy must’ve wanted to pass me up
As he kept on tooting his horn.
I’ll show him that a Cadillac
Is not a car to scorn.
Beep Beep. Beep! Beep! Beep Beep. Beep! Beep!
His horn went Beep Beep beep.
[Fastest]
Now we’re doing a hundred and twenty –
As fast as I could go.
The Rambler pulled along side of me
As if we were going slow.
The fellow rolled down his window
And yelled for me to hear,
“Hey, Buddy, how can I get this car
Out of second gear! ”
Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep! Beep!

-30-

 

One thought on “Beep Beep

Leave a Reply

