Home

This experiment is going to get deep, so bear with me and let’s have some fun.

To start, I’ve drawn a purple egg. We will put it aside until later. Don’t worry, I won’t forget our egg.

DeepPurple1

Now, we draw a straight line to represent my life. It doesn’t matter how long it is, but for the sake of discussion, let’s make it 72 years long.

DeepPurple3

It is like a straw, and contains all my reference points – all the people and all the things I know during my life.

Next, we move along until I am about 18 when I come to a major “fork in the road.” I choose a particular college, and chart a new course of my life.

We have now introduced a “parallel universe” – my original path, plus a totally different path. Two different “straws.”

DeepPurple4

Once a new path is chosen, their is no interaction between paths. Two objects cannot occupy the same space at the same time.

My next major fork in the road is marriage. I could choose to remain single, or I could choose to get married. I make a choice, and so now we have three straws.

To keep things simple, I have only marked a few of my life choices on this diagram – one for each career choice. Of course, all of us have way more forks in our roads, but for now, let’s just stick with my career moves.

DeepPurple2

Imagine a few more straws added to this diagram. In my particular case, let’s imagine 20 separate straws. Twenty different forks in the road appearing at 20 different times and marking a variety of different choices.

Twenty parallel universes.

Now, let’s complicate things a bit.

We have eight billion people on earth right about now. That’s 8 followed by nine zeros. 8,000,000,000.

Eight billion people. Each reaching 20 forks in the road. One hundred sixty billion different parallel universes or “straws.” 160,000,000,000.

For the sake of argument, let’s say an additional 8 billion people have lived on the earth before we got here. So we double that original 8,000,000,000 to 16,000,000,000. Twenty major forks in the road per individual. We now have 320,000,000,000 parallel universes. 320 billion straws. No one inside any of the straws can touch anyone in a different straw. In fact, we don’t even realize those other people, places and things exist.

My diagram doesn’t have to remain stagnant. You can bend all those straws any which way you want to. Make pretty designs. As long as none of the straws ever meet or touch.

Now is where the real fun begins!

DeepPurple1Remember that purple egg we drew at the beginning? Now we have to dump the contents of that egg into each secondary path we choose to take. ALL the people, places and things we knew in the original life are sucked along with us into the secondary universe. None of us feel a thing, or know what has happened. Just 8,000,000,000 people chugging along inside a parallel universe.

What happens to the ORIGINAL 8,000,000,000 people? They chug along that original parallel universe – unaware of any change.

320,000,000,000 parallel universes.

EXCEPT – except when each one of those original 8,000,000,000 people ALSO make choices, AND, SUCK ALL THEIR PEOPLE, PLACES AND THINGS WITH THEM!!! THEIR original lives keep chugging along with no knowledge of any changes. Everyone inside EACH STRAW has freedom of choice, so how many quadrillion straws – parallel universes – are created?

I made it far too simple at the beginning, but if you add the ingredients of the eggs, the finite mind cannot imagine the infinite number possible.

EXTRA CREDIT: Could one god “know,” love, and keep track of all those quadrillion or quintillion universes?

Or more?

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

