Home

Several years ago, my head started “swimming.” Dizziness, vertigo, and sometimes nausea.  At the time I wrote, “On the morning of 28 December 2008, I became extremely dizzy. My right leg gave out from under me, and I fell into a wall. My neighbor thought it might be stroke, so I went to (the ER) by ambulance. After treatment, I was diagnosed with Labyrinthitis and given Meclizine, which worked effectively.”

It’s back.

You might say I have “rocks in my head.”

This time around, it started over a month ago, and I had forgotten the earlier episode(s). I’d rather not have it at all, thank you very much. It has a fancy name, but the down-low is that I need medication (Meclizine) and therapy. I am not supposed to drive (ah, how am I supposed to get to therapy?), or sleep on pillows in case my head drifts off to one side or the other. No trips to the gym, either.

So glad I’m not flying!

You might have seen the actor who has rapid eye movement in at least one eye. I think he is usually a villain? This morning, my doctor put me through a variety of positions while watching my eyes. I couldn’t tell, but my eyes floated around as he twisted and turned my head. Made me sick, I tell you!

By any other name, I don’t wish “rocks in the head” on anyone

BENIGN PAROXYSMAL POSITIONAL VERTIGO

IAmRock

(web site)

In Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo (BPPV) dizziness is generally thought to be due to debris which has collected within a part of the inner ear.  This debris can be thought of  as “ear rocks”, although the formal name is “otoconia”. Ear rocks are small crystals of calcium carbonate derived from a structure in the ear called the “utricle” (figure1 ). While the saccule also contains otoconia, they are not able to migrate into the canal system. The utricle may have been damaged by head injury, infection, or other disorder of the inner ear, or may have degenerated because of advanced age.

. . . . . .. The symptoms of BPPV include dizziness or vertigo, lightheadedness, imbalance, and nausea. Activities which bring on symptoms will vary among persons, but symptoms are almost always precipitated by a change of position of the head with respect to gravity. Getting out of bed or rolling over in bed are common “problem” motions . Because people with BPPV often feel dizzy and unsteady when they tip their heads back to look up, sometimes BPPV is called “top shelf vertigo.” Women with BPPV may find that the use of shampoo bowls in beauty parlors brings on symptoms. A Yoga posture called the “down dog”, or Pilates are sometimes the trigger. An intermittent pattern is common. BPPV may be present for a few weeks, then stop, then come back again.

-30-

One thought on “I am a rock

  1. Pingback: Goin’ out of my head | Gramps' blog

Leave a Reply

