Home

Back in the day, cars that ran for 100,000 miles were exceptional.

Now, those kinds of miles aren’t impressive at all.  Our daughter Brenda has a Honda Element with over 280,000 miles on it.

My own pattern for the last few years is to not drive even 10,000 miles per year.  That would mean I should drive my cars at least ten years!  (At one point when she was living at home, that same daughter made it clear she didn’t want me to drive her around in an old car.  She gave me a ten year limit!)

90000My latest car has been a 2006 Chevy Cobalt. It had a few recalls against it before I bought it that I did not know about.  I soon found out what a recall was, and that Chevy has gone through six or seven in the last couple of years!

Our son Sean once referred to this car as a “throw away.”  I guess he meant I could not expect it to last too long.  I don’t drive very much since I retired, and I try hard to keep my cars maintained.

Considering all of the above, I was really excited Wednesday (Dec. 9) as I slid under the steering wheel and caught a glance at the instrument panel.  EXACTLY 90,000 miles!!

Woo-hoo!

How often does ANYONE see a perfect number on the odometer!!

NOW I can take it in for that 3,000 mile oil change I have waited for so patiently!!!

Ta-dah!

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

