Home

IntelLogoWe have a few video gaming enthusiasts  in our family.  The most dedicated is David.  He has found that his gaming skills are paying off with his newest job promoting Intel.

You may not recognize the name Intel, but it is an integral part of most personal computers.  It is that thingy they call a “processor.”  The higher the value of your processor, the better your computer will run.

Since David now lives in the same town, we get to share a little “tech talk” on occasion.  His insights are wonderful to hear!

Back in the day, I used to be a techie, but those days are gone.  I’ve completed my seventh decade, so it is a serious struggle to fight off the ailments and dangers of aging.  The wheels keep falling off.

I am deathly afraid of Alzheimer’s Disease.

My mother often said she would sooner be shot then end up in an “old folk’s home,” and I share her sentiment exactly.

Exactly.

To get back to David.

David is an expert gamer, and stays on the cusp of the latest video games and their various platforms (the machines that run the games).

ObLaDi.jpgAs we were chatting yesterday about the proper nomenclature to be used when describing those who play video games, I came to the realization that I, too, am a “gamer!”

Oh, not at all on the skill level of David, but simply because I enjoy playing Mahjongg on my computer!  I play all different styles of the game, including a very simple “line ’em up and knock ’em out” version titled Kumika!

Such games are mesmerizing.  Just like the table games in Vegas, I find it so hard to stop playing.  I just want to get One Level Higher than the last game.  Surely the Next Game will be better!

For years, I used to do crossword puzzles and the like, but my brain just won’t let me finish the dang things any more.  So I play games on my computer.

By definition, I am a “Gamer!”

-30-

9 November 2015 – I forgot to say:

I play such games, and used to do crossword puzzles, to keep my mind from getting more and more dull.  Duh!

One thought on “Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da

  1. That’s what I like to say, I don’t think the choice of game genres defines who is a “real” gamer or not.

    Also, I don’t think you’re going senile! At all! Stop saying that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

