Home

“The show’s trainer . . . . told him that he could lose weight on (The Biggest Loser), but he would gain it back again if he didn’t figure out why he gained it in the first place.” 

Utah seems to have a lot of contestants on the TV “reality” show THE BIGGEST LOSER.  Maybe it is because the predominant religion in the state forbids alcohol and tobacco.  So maybe we have more people over-eating instead?

Jackson Carter was a favorite on season 14, although he was not the biggest loser.  Jackson now works at my local Planet Fitness, and he is a real joy to be around.

ImALoserThe Standard Examiner featured another of the show’s contestants today – Scott Mitchell – former NFL player for the Miami Dolphins, Detroit Lions, Baltimore Ravens and Cincinnati Bengals.

His diet before the show was outlandish, to say the least.  “His daily commute started out with two breakfast combo meals at McDonalds, or a breakfast burrito at a local Mexican restaurant “the size of a loaf of bread.  Then he polished off the healthy lunch his wife, Wendy, had prepared for him.  At lunchtime, he would head for all-you-can-eat restaurant, followed by afternoon snacks and Popeye’s Chicken on the drive home.  Then he ate a full dinner to try to keep his wife from suspecting that he’d been snacking.”

“His father’s death after years of obesity-caused illness was a wake-up call. He became a “Biggest Loser” competitor feeling like a dying caterpillar, ready to go into a cocoon.”

“The show’s trainer . . . . told him that he could lose weight on (the show, but he would gain it back again if he didn’t figure out why he gained it in the first place.”

The show worked for Mitchell, and he has written a book titled ALIVE AGAIN.

But not all people involved in an intense weight loss program succeed.  I searched for “biggest loser worst diet” and came up with several results.  This article from 2013 is just one example.  “Expert Opinion: Why The Biggest Loser Is the Worst. . . . There’s no diplomatic way for me to put this, so here it is: It is NEVER productive or appropriate to train until you vomit or fracture a bone. Obese individuals in particular often need the least training stimulus to start making progress. A month or two of walking hills, hiking and light kettlebell swings is the perfect place to begin. Bottom line, while you do need to get outside of your comfort zone to see changes in your body, you can’t shift into fifth gear directly from first. Small, incremental upticks in activity add up.”

I watch people come and go at the gym – many who really should stay.  I don’t know their stories, but so many “drop out,” that I am really concerned for them.

I found another article that says, ” . . . scientists found that there’s only enough evidence to conclude that two of the 32 major plans — Weight Watchers and Jenny Craig — will keep weight off for at least a year.”

Any way you look at it, keeping trim is a very difficult battle.  Kudos to those who loose weight and keep it off!

Because of my individual health concerns, diet and exercise have become very important to me.  I go to the gym every weekday, and play basketball every Saturday.  Still, I tend to gain weight.  Three health regimes have me on strict orders to avoid many, many foods.  In fact, I once joked that the only thing left for me to eat is crackers and water.  Now I have to eliminate the crackers if they have salt, or if they are made out of dough.  No joking!

I’ve promised myself, once I know I have just six months to live, I am going to eat anything and everything I want!

84cropI have a friend from Japan who is 86 years old – Katsue.  I gave her a book describing various home remedies for different ailments.  I had to translate a few of the terms, and she started a list of what diet was recommended for arthritis and for daily fiber intake.  She was distraught as she told me, “I just ate those yesterday!”

Before I left, I told her, “You know what, you will soon be 87, and I will be 70.  Maybe there is a point where we close the book on these many diets and just say to heck with it.”

Maybe tomorrow.

-30-

Leave a Reply

