Home

TaxManToyotaBetween my sophomore and junior year in college – 1967 – I bought a fancy new red Toyota.  The dealer threw in four 8-track tapes, Lou Rawls, the Association, a various artist compilation (bootleg), and the Beatles REVOLVER.

As George Harrison counted down at the beginning of the song TAXMAN, I fell in love with the Beatles all over again.  The sounds bounced all over the insides of my new car – “one, TWO, three, Four.”  It was magical.

Even the words of TAXMAN had me nodding my head in agreement:

 TaxManRevolverLet me tell you how it will be
There’s one for you, nineteen for me
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

 Should five per cent appear too small
Be thankful I don’t take it all
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

 If you drive a car, I’ll tax the street
If you try to sit, I’ll tax your seat
If you get too cold I’ll tax the heat
If you take a walk, I’ll tax your feet

 Taxman!
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah I’m the taxman

Don’t ask me what I want it for (Aahh Mr. Wilson)
If you don’t want to pay some more (Aahh Mr. Heath)
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

 Now my advice for those who die
Declare the pennies on your eyes
Cos I’m the taxman, yeah, I’m the taxman

 And you’re working for no one but me
Taxman!

 In 1996 and 2000 Steve Forbes ran for president of the United States, proposing a flat income tax of 17 percent. “Under the Flat Tax, for example, a family of four would pay no federal income tax on its first $43,765 of income and would pay only 17 cents on every dollar it earned above that level. There would be no tax on Social Security benefits. No tax on personal savings. No capital gains taxes. And small businesses and family farms wouldn’t have to worry about being wiped out by the death tax — no taxation without respiration. Best of all, there would be no more time-consuming complications — you could literally fill out your tax form on a single page or even a postcard!

” . . . the Flat Tax will eliminate the IRS, its bureaucrats, its paperwork, its nightmares, and its hassles.”

Some of the candidates for the 2016 presidential race support the Forbes model.

We can only hope!

 🙂

Leave a Reply

