Home

WARNING: graphic content.

SrawberryFieldsAs a young child, I saw a large pig strung up by its back leg, then scalded to death.  I also walked past a butcher shop where regular-sized pigs were being killed, as their blood ran down the gutter.

When I was a teenager, I watched as a classmate shot cows in the head with a .22 at his parent’s slaughterhouse.

One of the most searing memories of my teen life was on a farm.  It had been my job to feed the calves, and as their mother-substitute, I’m thinking they became fond of me.  Imagine the scene as one of those calves reached the age of “adulthood” and had his budding horns clipped out of his skull.  Then some sort of powder was thrown in the gaping wounds.  I will never forget the look of betrayal I saw in the eyes of that former friend as his horrified gaze caught mine.

You would think that with all those gruesome images, I would never eat meat.  Yet, on that same farm, a food staple was mutton and other country-bred meat.  It was all part of the facts of life.

Lately, I’ve developed a more humane attitude toward animals, but I still chow down on meat from time-to-time.  When that young cow is in disguise and hiding in a taco, the bad images don’t surface as often.

Still, in more sobering moments, I try to be vegetarian.  It’s not easy.

For one thing, I have several health issues that require I pay attention to my diet.  Spare the meat, of course, but to prevent kidney stones, I am also asked to omit ANY berry or berry juice, spinach, beets, chocolate, nuts, seeds, potatoes, rhubarb, rice bran, baked potato with skin, corn grits, Navy beans, bran flakes with raisins, cheese pizza, all pickles, canned vegetable juices, bran flakes, Fiber One, wheat germ, Concord grapes, Lemon peel, Lime peel, Celery, Swiss chard, parsley, parsnips, Green peppers, Rutabagas, Summer squash, watercress, asparagus, eggplant, parsley, peanut butter, sweet potatoes, dried green beans, red currants, fruit cocktail, and tangerines, to name a few.  (Broader list below.)

Try those restrictions on a vegetarian lifestyle!

I still can’t figure it out.

-30-

Painting from OrphanStones blog.

AVOID: SALT, cheese, luncheon meats, processed foods, spinach, beets, chocolate, nuts, seeds, potatoes (p.5), rhubarb, rice bran, baked potato with skin, corn grits, Navy beans, hot chocolate, bran flakes with raisins (p. 9), Teriyaki, canned meat/fish, cheese pizza, canned soup, soy sauce, link sausage, all pickles, creamed cottage cheese, canned vegetable juices, ham, frankfurters,  processed cheese, chips/snacks, salami, bologna, natural cheeses (p. 13) Meat, fish, poultry (p. 16) ABCS OF KIDNEY STONES). Bran Flakes, Fiber One, Wheat germ, Concord grapes, Lemon peel, Lime peel, Celery, Swiss chard, parsley, parsnips, Green peppers, Rutabagas, Summer squash, Watercress, asparagus, Eggplant, parsley, Ovaltine, Tea, Cocoa, pepper,  Vegetable soup, Peanut butter, berries/juices, soy, Tofu (YOUR GUIDE TO A LOW OXALATE DIET),  Sweet potatoes,  Dried green beans, Red currants,   Fruit cocktail,  Tangerine, White corn,  Tomato sauce/soup (Other guides.).

 

Leave a Reply

