Home

CobaltRearWith several GM recalls under my belt for my 2006 Chevy Cobalt, I have been waiting for the other shoe to drop.

That shoe just might have fallen Saturday morning about 7:45.

That is the time I always start heading to the gym for my Saturday basketball games.  I almost didn’t make it.

Remember back when carburetors would get “vapor lock” and stall out?  That’s what this car tried to do.  Only thing, with fuel injection, vapor lock is a thing of the past.

Bad gasoline?

When I got to the gym, I gunned the engine, leaving a brown spot on the pavement. Along with liquid drops.  Then I let the thing idle for several minutes before I shut it off.

Knock on wood, the car has performed just fine ever since.

I called the GM mechanic, and there was a very long pause on the phone.  I’m guessing he couldn’t figure out what it was either.

If the damage is part of yet another recall, I’ll be okay, but I can’t afford to pay for an engine analysis.  I’ll bet that cost is up over a hundred buck these days?

If this baby dies, I don’t know what I am going to do.  😦

Ideas?

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

