Home

PenquinSamIt was exquisite pleasure to see Oswald Chesterfield Cobblepot in a re-run of THE WALKING DEAD last week.  The series is being shown on a sub-channel of my local CBS affiliate – 2.2  He appeared all too briefly in episode four of season four – Indifference.  “Rick and Carol go on a run to a nearby town where they find two uninfected stragglers.”  (IMDb)

The credits list his character as “Sam.”  The same character is apparently in episode one of season five, but I haven’t gotten that far yet.

THE WALKING DEAD used to be my favorite show, but by now you have guessed I am wallowing in delight over GOTHAM!!!!!!

Penquin“Sam” is now “Oswald Chesterfield Cobblepot,” better known as The Penguin!!!

I’ve been hooked on GOTHAM since scene one of episode one of season one.  It is rarely I will even THINK about buying a DVD of a TV season, but I can’t wait to get my hands on season one of GOTHAM so I can binge watch and keep all the details straight.

When Penquin showed his smiling face in THE WALKING DEAD, I think I must have squealed with delight when I recognised him!  Both roles are played by Robin Lord Taylor, who went from blonde to black hair for The Penquin.  It is very easy to see The Penquin struggling to come out of Sam.  What fun!

My delight over GOTHAM comes as a shock to me.  I have NEVER been a fan of The Batman.  As a child (born in 1945), my favorite super hero was Superman.  My choice was made easy as George Reeves flew in to my television set every week.  Batman comics were way too dark – D.C. comics seemed to even use barrels of blue and black ink – in coloring and in plot.  (The initials “DC” came from the company’s popular series Detective Comics, which featured Batman’s debut and subsequently became part of the company’s name. Wikipedia)

My love affair with Superman ended when he split into alternate universes – bah!  My favorite comic books of any genre are still anything to do with Huey, Dewey, Louie and Unca Scrooge McDuck.  Love those Disney rascals!!

So, after I left the DC Universe, my attention was shifted to all things MARVEL.  Good old Spidey, and the incredibly awesome Wolverine!

My younger boys had this board came based on the X-Men, and they let me assume the role of Wolverine most of the times we played.  THANK YOU, BOYS!  When I learned that Hugh Jackman – Wolverine in the movies – started out singing on stage in Australia, I was captivated!  Then, Jackman did that fantastic job as host during an Oscar telecast.  Then, he sang again in the movie Les Misérables!

I’ve been a Marvel junkie ever since.

Then comes GOTHAM.  From DC.

No matter.  I can be a loyal Marvel fan and still love the heck out of GOTHAM.

You have to see this show!  Unfortunately, HULU only shows the most recent five episodes, so you will need to spend some money to catch up using HULU Plus or some other premium.  I recommend starting with episode one, though, as the action is furious, and if you come in late, you might lose your place.

ENJOY!!

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

