Home

GM just sent me a letter about my 2006 Chevy Cobalt.  It has been recalled.  Again.

This makes recall #5.

I’ve never heard of such a thing.  Can anyone in my audience come even close to FIVE recalls????

EPSRecall 14115: “Your vehicle equipped with Electric Power Steering (EPS) may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. If the power steering assist is lost. . . .  steering control can be maintained . . ..  but would require greater driver effort . . .  which could result in an increased risk of a crash.”

I told my mechanic we should know the names of each others children by now.  As soon as I can get up Monday (February 2, 2015) I’ll give my car over for a few hours.

Meanwhile, I looked up my car on the Internet.  One article lists AT LEAST SIX RECALLS for this model.  “Since 2003, Cobalt’s have experienced approximately 9 recall(s) due to hazards with various components, including the electric power assist system, switch, column shift, structure and headlights,”  I haven’t been notified of the one that reads, “April 10, 2014 –  In the affected vehicles, the key can be removed from the ignition when the ignition is not in the “Off” position. . . .  If the key can be removed from the ignition when the ignition is not in the “off” position, the vehicle could roll away . . .  This potential for rollaway increases the risk for a crash and occupant or pedestrian injuries.”

My five recalls, SO FAR:
1.  (most famous)  a faulty ignition switch.  If it doesn’t work, the steering mechanism and airbags could turn off.
2.  replace lock cylinder
3.  Leaking fuel module/pump
4.  transmission shifter may not properly transmit an electrical signal that allows the ignition key to be turned counter-clockwise past the accessory mode to the LOCK position (not applicable to my specific car).
5.  loss of power steering assist

Geez.  Enough is enough.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

Leave a Reply

