Home

It must have been in the early 1990s when I became interested in “Near Death Experiences.”

I had just come off a period in my life studying ghosts and such, so I poured through Betty Eadie’s account of her famous NDE, “Embraced by the Light.”

That was followed by Raymond Moody’s work, “Life after Life.”

NDEYou probably know the formula – you die, travel down a tunnel, the tunnel has a light at the end, you meet deceased loved ones, you have to decide whether or not to return to the living – that sort of thing.

For one reason or another, I became soured on ghosts, and then turned my back on NDE’s.

A very great friend was dying of cancer about this time, and she was still caught up in the NDE movement – attending meetings and such.

One day near the end, I asked my friend if she would come visit me from the next life, if just for a second.  She refused.

“If you knew how many requests I have had for visits, ” she told me, ” it wouldn’t allow me time to do anything else!”

I was really disappointed.  Apparently, there is no such thing as “time” on the other side, so a short visit to a friend didn’t see impossible.

For years, I begged my deceased mother to do the same.  Just visit long enough to give me a couple of comforting words – “It’s alright.”

Nothing.

So I was not one bit surprised to read that a six-year-old has recanted his NDE experience.  Maybe you read about it.

JAN. 16, 2015,

Best-Seller About Journey to Heaven Is Pulled

A best-selling account of a 6-year-old boy’s journey to heaven and back has been pulled after the boy retracted his story.

Spokesman Todd Starowitz of Tyndale House, a leading Christian publisher, confirmed Friday that Alex Malarkey’s “The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life Beyond This World” was being withdrawn. Earlier this week, Malarkey acknowledged in an open letter that he was lying, saying that he had been seeking attention. He also regretted that “people had profited from lies.”

“I did not die. I did not go to Heaven,” he wrote.

“The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven” was first published in 2010 and told of a 2004 auto accident which left Malarkey in a coma. According to the book, co-written by Alex’s father, Kevin Malarkey, he had visions of angels and of meeting Jesus. In 2014, Tyndale reissued “The Boy,” which on the cover includes the billing “A True Story.” As reported by Nielsen BookScan, which tracks around 85 percent of the print market, the book has sold nearly 120,000 copies.

The facts of “The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven” have long been disputed in the Christian community, which has challenged reports of divine visions in Malarkey’s book and other best-sellers such as Todd Burpo’s “Heaven is for Real.” Last June, the Southern Baptist Convention passed a resolution declaring “the sufficiency of biblical revelation over subjective experiential explanations to guide one’s understanding of the truth about heaven and hell.” One of the leading critics has been Malarkey’s mother, Beth. In April 2014, she wrote a blog posting saying that the book’s success had been “both puzzling and painful to watch” and that she believed Alex had been exploited.

MORE

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Leave a Reply

