Home

A son replied to one of my recent blog posts, “Don’t quit your passion.”

That is wisdom for the ages. It applies to everyone, not just me.

dreamgoalThomas Edison had passion. If he had not tried 1,000 times to create a commercially viable light bulb, we may have had a long wait in the dark for the next inventor to step up.

When I was in seventh grade science class, my nose was more into my Weekly Reader than it was the teacher’s talk. He caught me off guard by asking what my entry was going to be for the science fair. Since I was reading about futuristic light panels, I calmly told him I would make a light bulb. “If you do, I’ll give you an A,” was his bemused answer.

It took me a lot of trial and error, but I was passionate about this project and I succeeded. My mother was SO proud of me!

Edison had a passion for invention, and for learning. He gathered a crew of similar-minded people into his lab, and they produced the first commercially viable phonograph, first commercial motion picture system, electric power distribution systems, alkaline battery, and even a vote recorder. A total of 1, 093 patents.

Without passion, the United States of America would never have been formed. It took thousands of men and women to “mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes, and our Sacred Honor” to get the thing off the ground.

One online dictionary defines passion as a “powerful or compelling emotion or feeling.” If we don’t have a deep emotional feeling to complete our dreams, our “bucket list” will never be completed, or maybe even started. It will just remain a list.

I’m ashamed to admit, my own bucket list isn’t even half-way complete. Of 18 items, only three have been checked off. To be fair, most of my items are really more dream than reality, such as “Win an Oscar, an Emmy, and a Tony,” but a few are actually attainable. “Climb a pyramid and get lost in the Cairo museum. Wander through the lava fields of Kilauea. Fly in a 747.  Ride in a hot-air balloon. Raft down the Colorado and see the Grand Canyon from the bottom. Stare at the works and writings of Leonardo da Vinci.”

musicdieAttainable, yes. Attainable without passion? Absolutely not.

As Oliver Wendell Holmes said, “”Many people die with their music still in them.”

Don’t quit YOUR passion.

DPO DPO DPO DPO DPO DPO DPO

Leave a Reply

