Home

As I grew up, I thought the word “holiday” meant something like “a formal declaration of a special observance, such as Christmas or Thanksgiving.”

While I was working  for the US Federal Government, a “holiday” was an OFFICIAL time off.  Specifically, in the United States, we have 10 OFFICIAL Federal holidays;  New Year’s Day,  Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Washington’s Birthday,  Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.

It never dawned on me that HALOWEEN was an OFFICIAL HOLIDAY in the United States.

I guess I was wrong.

I went to my doctor’s office bright and early this morning to discuss a very important matter – my medications.  I have just switched over to a mail-order service for my prescriptions, and half the orders are coming back wrong.

“I’m sorry,” the receptionist told me, “but the doctor’s wife called him home today and tomorrow for Halloween.”

Thursday AND Friday?  For Haloween??????

You’ve got to be kidding.

JackLanterns2

 

 

Leave a Reply

