Home

As I get older and older (68 now), I accumulate more doctors and clinicians.

Each professional has different requirements to keep me healthy.  Some are at odds with each other.  For example, one will tell me I need meat for protein and energy.  Another will tell me to stay away from meat.

Pretty much all health advice is now aimed at reducing salt and sugar.  With a bad heart, I can actually feel the physical strain on my heart if I eat too much salt – no argument there.

Many members of our family have gone vegan, or vegetarian, or leaning that way.  My freezer has only fish for meat, and that comes out only once a month or so.

It is getting harder and harder for me to eat at a restaurant (always a buffet so I can choose) as my private menu seldom matches the choices.  I do eat out about once a week, so I have become accustomed to having four glasses of water on the table.  I can’t leave until all the water is gone. The idea is to wash out the pepper, the salt, and the other garbage I have eaten.

FoodRulesMichael Pollan wrote a tiny book back in 2009 (not a tiny price at $11) titled, FOOD RULES.  I like most of his advice – some of which I had already adopted before finding his book.  Here are some examples, with my favorites listed first:

EAT FOOD. (as opposed to processed concoctions).
EAT SLOWLY.
THE WHITER THE BREAD, THE SOONER YOU’LL BE DEAD.
BREAKFAST LIKE A KING, LUNCH LIKE A PRINCE,DINNER LIKE A PAUPER.
DO ALL YOUR EATING AT A TABLE.
TRY NOT TO EAT ALONE.
SHOP THE (OUTER AISLES) OF THE SUPERMARKET AND STAY OUT OF THE MIDDLE.
STAY OUT OF THE SUPERMARKET WHENEVER YOU CAN.
IF IT CAME FROM A PLANT, EAT IT.  IF IT WAS MADE IN A PLANT, DON’T. 
AVOID FOOD PRODUCTS CONTAINING INGREDIENTS THAT A THIRD GRADER CANNOT PRONOUNCE.
DON’T EAT ANYTHING YOUR GRANDMOTHER WOULDN’T RECOGNISE AS FOOD.
EAT ONLY FOODS THAT WILL EVENTUALLY ROT.
AVOID . . . HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.
AVOID FOOD PRODUCTS THAT CONTAIN MORE THAN FIVE INGREDIENTS.
STOP EATING BEFORE YOU’RE FULL.
LEAVE SOMETHING ON YOUR PLATE.
IT’S NOT FOOD IF IT ARRIVED THROUGH THE WINDOW OF YOUR CAR.
DON’T EAT BREAKFAST CEREALS THAT CHANGE THE COLOR OF MILK.
EAT MORE LIKE THE FRENCH, OR THE JAPANESE, OR THE ITALIANS, OR THE GREEKS.
DON’T GET YOUR FUEL FROM THE SAME PLACE YOUR CAR DOES.

RSDBTT RSDBTT RSDBTT RSDBTT RSDBTT RSDBTT RSDBTT

2 thoughts on “Eating gets harder the older I get

  1. Hi Peter, We believe that Michael Pollan is mostly spot on. Here are our two cents:

    1) We haven’t write a post on it yet, but we don’t believe human are meant to eat three meals a day. In fact, there is tremendous evidence suggesting that intermittent fasting can force the body to make use of the nutrients more efficiently, ultimately enhancing its absorption through the induction of hormetic hunger stress. It’s onlly healthy to feel hunger from time to time without starving oneself, and we have found that a two-meal plan can be particularly helpful for that purpose (e.g., 1st meal 3 hours after waking, last meal 3 hours before sleeping).

    2) We have seem the contradictory advice on meat ourselves as well, but we don’t believe there is a paradox out there. For one, it’s clear to us that industrial meat with antibiotics, growth hormone, pink slime can seriously take a toll on our health. On the other hand, the organic, grass-fed, grass-finished meat can provide the necessary amount of saturated fat and protein needed for optimal physical and mental function.

    Like

Leave a Reply

