Home

Today is “Moon Day” – the 45th anniversary of the moon landing.

More importantly, it is also the 43rd anniversary of our son Sean’s birth!

Quite a day!

But there is much, much more.  It all ties together at the end, so please be patient.  🙂

A few days ago, I was checking out of my local Dollar Tree with two items,  “I’m sorry,” I said.  “I left my money in the car.  Can you please hold these while I go to my car – I’ll be right back.”

“I got it,” said the customer who was next in line.  Pay it forward.

I had no idea THAT was going to happen, but ever since I’ve been looking for opportunities to help people.

This morning, my newspaper didn’t arrive, even after I called the office three times.  Substitute carrier.  So, I hiked a few blocks to the local Dollar General to buy a copy for $2.  The Sunday edition is important because it has the local version of a weekly TV Guide in it.

house-fireGod only knows how or why I started talking to the clerk.  Her house had burned down July 8.  The only thing she saved was the urn of her mother’s ashes and a small box.

She has no where to go with her six children.  Some charity found a place for the first couple of weeks, but now they are all in a Motel 6 – on her Dollar General wages.

I cried.  Her house WAS at 2820 Adams.  In 1985, I lived at 2820 #A on Adams, a tiny hut in her back yard!  I was long gone before she ever moved in, but I felt a kinship with her.

I gave her the only cash I had – $2 – then I walked back home to get my check book.  I drove back to the store and gave her a check for $20 (I pray it clears my bank!).  I gave her a hug.

Meanwhile, the newspaper came to my house.  I picked up the extra copy, and took it to the 84 year-old widow I take care of.  She appreciates the TV Guide section as well.

As I pulled into the apartment complex where I live, Wendy told me she had gone to the store to get another loaf of DAVE’S KILLER 21 GRAIN BREAD, but they were all out.  I had given her a loaf a few days ago and she loves it.  I gave her another loaf from my freezer.

As I neared my apartment door, Sandy reached out to give me a plate of hot biscuits and gravy.  She does that from time-to-time with other morsels.  We trade DVDs quite a lot as well.

According to Wikipedia, “The concept (of Pay it Forward) is old, but the phrase may have been coined by Lily Hardy Hammond in her 1916 book In the Garden of Delight.”

Please, Pay it Forward for some kindness you have experienced.  Send ANYTHING YOU CAN TO:
ROSE KAUT
c/o Dollar General
667 Monroe Blvd Ogden UT 84404
(801) 627-1477

P.S.  My Internet box was cooked by the heat so I haven’t had access most of the weekend.  It has turned back on – maybe just long enough to post this?

Quiet a day!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

