Home

RSL460My enthusiasm for Major League Soccer in the United States goes back a few years when Utah gave birth to a new team – REAL (pronounced “Ree al”) Salt Lake.

The team started in a borrowed university football (American football) stadium.

I was thrilled when the team got its own stadium.  Even when I left the state for a year and one-half, I still followed the team long distance.

This year, I was ecstatic to trip over a REAL jersey at a local store.  They went very quickly, but not before I put my money where my mouth is, and proudly spent about $30.

I even changed my Facebook photo to reflect my loyalty.

US_Soccer_Federation_svgREAL sent two of my favorite players to the national team – Nick Rimando and Kyle Beckerman – with Beckerman playing all minutes so far.

So mark me down as a REAL soccer fan, not a Jonny Come Lately..

“U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! U-S-A! “

Leave a Reply

