Home

JawCut2My father died a horrible death of cancer.  He was a smoker, and before it was over, he was reduced to a mere skeleton.  It was awful.

I’ve had friends die of cancer.

I’ve had cancer – prostate, and a bunch of different skin cancers.  One had the fancy name, “Melanoma in situ II.”  My doctor for that operation is a genius.  Not only did I feel no pain as he cut into me, I felt no pain any time after.

Another time, Dr. Bell in St. Louis took one look at the ugly knob on the top of my head, sat me down without any paperwork or biopsy, and cut the thing off immediately!

I’m old enough to remember Polio.  My mother had a dancing/singing troupe, and we visited the Crippled Children’s Home to entertain.  I remember iron lungs.

I also remember how quickly polio abated after Dr. Salk started inoculating.  It was a terrific miracle.

So my brain tries to digest the two diseases and come up with one conclusion – why haven’t we eradicated cancer like Salk almost eradicated polio?

Forgive me one moment of conspiracy talk – maybe it is a vast plot amongst the drug companies to NOT cure it.  Cancer is big business.

Okay, I’ve got that out of my system, back to main topic.

cancerWikipedia says, “There are over 200 different known cancers that affect humans.”

So it is cancer(S) – plural, not singular.  Scientists are tracking more than my skin cancer or my prostate cancer, or my Dad’s lung cancer, they are tracking more than TWO HUNDRED ugly monsters.

Wikipedia continues, “Medically as malignant neoplasia, (cancer) is a broad group of diseases involving unregulated cell growth. In cancer, cells divide and grow uncontrollably, forming malignant tumors, which may invade nearby parts of the body. The cancer may also spread to more distant parts of the body through the lymphatic system or bloodstream.”

“The causes of cancer are diverse, complex, and only partially understood. Many things are known to increase the risk of cancer, including tobacco use, dietary factors, certain infections, exposure to radiation, lack of physical activity, obesity, and environmental pollutants. These factors can directly damage genes or combine with existing genetic faults within cells to cause cancerous mutations Approximately 5–10% of cancers can be traced directly to inherited genetic defects.”

Many cancers could be prevented by not smoking, eating more vegetables, fruits and whole grains, eating less meat and refined carbohydrates, maintaining a healthy weight, exercising, minimizing sunlight exposure, and being vaccinated against some infectious diseases.”

Okay, I get it.  Cancer is a hydra – you cut off one head, two more grow back.  BUT, why haven’t the scientists announced a cure for ONE or TWO here and there?  We have a huge cancer research lab/hospital near where I live.  The world-famous Mayo Clinic is in Minnesota.  The HUGE Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is in New York.  ad infinitum.

I’d settle for one advancement a year, people.

One per year.

RVORVORVORVORVORVORVO

 

Leave a Reply

