Home

GoofeyWords are funny creatures.  The same word can mean totally different things to different people.  As I have often said, “I know you believe you understand what you think I said, but I’m not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!”  I need to modify that a bit to say ” what you hear OR READ is not what I meant!”

For example, in my blog posting PIVOT POINTS, I said I once had a crush on Sally Struthers. To clarify what I had written, I later went back to correct that to say I had a crush on Gloria, the fictional character played by Sally Struthers in ALL IN THE FAMILY.

I’ve also had crushes on Wonder Woman, Janis Joplin, Danica Patrick, Susan Evers and Sharon McKendrick.  Those last two names were the dual roles played by Haley Mills in THE PARENT TRAP movie.

I never wrote letters, sent email, obsessed about, longed for, dreamt about, imagined a real relationship with, or desired sexual intercourse with any of the above.

In MY mind, the word “crush” is totally innocent.  In my mind, I think “TEENAGE crush,” nothing more. It means something like “fleeting fantasy.”

An adult can have a teenage crush, and it has the same connotation – a “whimsy.”

If I offended any one, or if someone else has a different idea in their mind of what “crush” means, I apologise for the misunderstanding.

 RVO RVO RVO RVO RVO RVO RVO

 

One thought on “Words

  1. Thank you,through selfless sharing of ideas, thoughts and experiences that will make our world a better place to live. Thank you and hope that you will enjoy what I posted and post. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

