Home

The bad news is, my 2006 Chevy Cobalt is part of a very serious recall.  GM said “it has identified 12 deaths in connection with the recall of 1.6 million models made in the mid-2000s.”  (Bloomberg News, March 14, 2014)

The really bad news is “The death toll related to an ignition flaw in eight small-car models that General Motors Co. (GM) sold a decade ago is likely to climb, say lawyers and safety advocates.”

“GM has apologized for its delay in recalling models with faulty ignition switches that can in some cases be turned off when the key is jostled or weighed down by heavy objects on its ring. That, in turn, shuts off the engine and cuts power to the air bags. ‘The process employed to examine this phenomenon was not as robust as it should have been,’ GM has said in statements, adding it is studying ways to improve how it addresses defects.”

Deep exhale.  The more I read, the worse it gets.

MalibuThe good news is, my local Chevy dealer called Enterprise, and I am now driving a loaner until the Cobalt is repaired. I ended up with a luxurious 2013 Chevrolet Malibu LTZ 2.0T.  It has everything except a back-up camera.  It is bluetooth and Sirius capable.

The bad news is, the repair may take weeks.  Bad news to be driving a beautiful boat?  Yes.  I am so afraid of getting into an accident.  USAA assures me I am covered, but I wonder if I should have added the Enterprise insurance I was offered.  If I get dinged – or worse – my USAA deductible will also get dinged.  I need to talk to Enterprise Monday.

The further bad news is, what will my Cobalt be worth when I get it back?  CARFAX will have the recall noted, so I have to assume the value of my car will plummet.  I had been thinking of a trade sometime soon – but now?  I need to talk to my Chevy dealer Monday.

Then there is the reminder from my local newspaper.  It gave the Bloomberg article this headline –  “GM recall death toll likely to rise”

Too much bad news.

RVORVORVORVORVORVORVO

Leave a Reply

