Home

gopaleoMaybe I ran across the “Paleo Diet” some time ago, but a new article just brought it to my attention again.

Apparently, with this diet, “eat lots of fats and animal protein. Carbohydrate consumption should be fairly light. Grass-fed beef is prized by paleo-dieters. You may consume unlimited amounts of butter, and must eliminate all cereals, legumes, and dairy products (except butter of course) from your diet.”

That summary comes from my chiropractor, but the article talks about more than becoming a carnivore.

“For instance, the Atkins diet is still going strong for more than 50 years. The main requirement of the Atkins diet is low carbohydrate consumption, and in this way the Atkins program resembles the paleo diet.”

Then the article talks about a subject dear to many in our family – “The vegetarian lifestyle has wide appeal and vegetarian recipes are famed for their simplicity and palate-pleasing qualities”  Then comes the downer, “However, vegetarian contrarians do exist. Some studies even suggest that vegetarian or vegan diets may be associated with anxiety, depression, and neurologic dysfunction.

What’s a person to do?

I’m an old man of 68.  Over the years I have developed heart trouble, diabetes, cancer, and kidney problems.  EACH problem has a DIFFERENT diet!  I have typed out ALL my restrictions for ALL my diets and I am down to crackers (unsalted) and water!

I even carry a list with me because I can’t remember what I can and cannot eat.

As usual, my chiropractor comes up with the best advice, “Simply put, any diet may be harmful to a particular person. It’s important to remember that what works for one person may not work for another. Paleo, Atkins, and vegetarian diets may create great benefits for certain persons, but may cause real medical problems for other people. The best overall approach for most us is to eat regularly from a wide variety of food groups, make sure to eat five servings of fresh fruits and vegetables every day, and pay close attention to portion control and calorie intake.”

Anyone for ice cream?

COMPLETE ARTICLE

BCVBCVBCVBCVBCV

Leave a Reply

