Home

BakerStarting in the late 70’s, I created literally thousands of voice-overs for various commercials.

I also ran a portable disc-jockey service, so I had a lot of records at my disposal.

I used my records to create instrumental “beds” during the commercials, and I loved ending the “spot” with the last note of a song.

In 1978, BAKER STREET by Gerry Rafferty had this long saxophone introduction, so it was perfect for my purposes.

Then, a lady in the office called me to say I needed to stop using the Top 40 songs because people were so busy listening to the music, they lost track of who the sponsor was supposed to be.

So, I sadly went to generic background music.

I guess the restriction has been lifted, because I surely hear a TON of recognizable songs during commercials today.

Coming Up by Paul McCartney.  Bad to the Bone by George Thorogood.  Memphis by Johnny Rivers.  Not to mention the theme from The A Team!  The list is very long.

Oh, well.

##########################################

 

Leave a Reply

