Home

For want of a nail the shoe was lost.
For want of a shoe the horse was lost.
For want of a horse the rider was lost.
For want of a rider the message was lost.
For want of a message the battle was lost.
For want of a battle the kingdom was lost.
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

Do you remember the good old days of American cars that were really cars!

As a 68-year-old male, I clearly remember the various cars I grew up with – the ones I drove, and the ones I wished I drove.

At one point, I had a purple 1949 Studebaker we called “Myrtle.”  Now THERE was a car!  Oh, how I wish I still had her.  😦

Myrtle1

59finsCars used to be different every year.  It was actually fun to drive down the highway and identify each different make and model.  That was when you could clearly see the difference between a 1957 Chevy, and my all-time favorite, the 1959 Caddy!

Back then, I could change my own oil and spark plus.  When I was working on the motor, I could actually see the ground on either side!  Except for the luxury barges, which started adding all that extra junk.  As time went by, it started to get more and more crowded inside the engine compartment.  I swear, “they” started piling things on so we could NOT fix things at home – we HAVE TO go to the garage!

Then, one night in a corner bar, three car builders in Detroit hoisted a few and decided, “I know what, let’s just make one model.  We can stamp them all out like a cookie cutter, then put different name tags on them!”   They patted each other on the back, and ordered another round.

And it was so.

CobaltA few days ago, my 2006 Chevy Cobalt needed a new turn signal light for the left front.

I stopped at a small mechanic shop, and after he took out a few screws and failed to dislodge the headlight assembly by tugging on it – hard – he gave up.  “Ya gotta pull off the front bumper,” he said, after consulting his computer.

“Pull off the bumper!  To change a tiny turn light!  You gotta be kidding,” I murmured under my breath.

The guy at Walmart Automotive agreed.  “Pull the front bumper.”

Next stop, a really qualified mechanic.  “Pull the bumper.”

Last stop, the Chevy garage.  Yup, all of the above.  “Pull the bumper.”

Took about one hour.  The bulb cost $3.99 (didn’t they used to be fifty cents?)

Add labor and tax: $36.32

For one bulb.

Leave a Reply

