Home

A couple of years ago, I traveled to a different state to be with my daughter whilst she finished off her chiropractic degree.  In the process of telling this organization and that organization that I had changed my address, I ran into a buzz saw when it came time to notify my Part D Drug Plan.  I actually ended up swearing at one point – but that got me no where.

Finally, I canceled the plan I brought with me, and then re-signed with the EXACT SAME INSURER!  If I had a brain at all, or someone to help walk me through it, I would have gotten a better company.  After my daughter got her degree, I moved back to my original state. so I had to change the blasted Part D policy again.

Yesterday, I got a heck of a letter from the US DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES.  They told me:

FallingStarEach year we give star ratings to Medicare health and drug plans. These ratings help you compare plans based on their quality and performance.

A 5-star rating is considered “excellent.”  You are currently enrolled in XYZ Plan.  This plan has been rated “poor” or “below average” for at least the last three years.

We encourage you to compare this plan to other options in your area and decide if it is still the right choice for you.

To get help with your choices, call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) at <SHIP phone number> or call 1-800-MEDICARE.

Guess where I am going Monday morning?

Leave a Reply

