Home

As the boys were growing up, we would gather in front of the TV on a Monday night, eat spaghetti, and watch WWF wrasslin’.  (It was still WWF back then.)

It wouldn’t take long before two or three of us were imitating moves, or actually trying to get a pin.  In particular, our youngest boy got better and better until it got to the point I would never win a “bout.”  He would always get me in a “death grip,” and I would have to tap out.  Never failed.

I tell you that story so I can tell you this one.

In junior high school I “voted” for John Kennedy in a mock election.  How cool when he won!

Things change, and I have voted straight Republican ever since.  I am a “one issue” voter.  As long as my party remains true to that key issue, I figure they can wobble a bit here and there on other planks.  If they have the sense to honor my one issue, they are bound to do the “right thing” most of the time.

Flying-DollarsNow we come to this pain-in-the-butt shut-down of 2013.  It is all about Obamacare, and the Republicans are holding on to some ethereal hope they can persuade the president to give up his signature legislation.  The law he hopes will put him in the history books along with Washington and Jefferson.  Good luck with that.

Andrew Johnson of National Review has found 100 “unintended consequences” dragging us down because of Obamacare, and I will list them in my next post.  It is getting harder and harder to find regular people who love this thing.

One unintended consequence is very personal – one of our sons is in Ivory Coast on a humanitarian mission.  He cannot get in to the US Ebassy on business – it is shut down.  This morning, I read about a guy who has to stay on his boat outside the Dominican Republic because the U.S. Customs computers are shut down.  Could this effect our sons ability to return home?

That same boy who used to pin me is now working as a civilian contractor for the Department of Defense, so he was sent home during Day One.  Fortunately, he has been called back.  The best I can figure his work is “essential.”

Love it or hate it, Obamacare is the law of the land – let’s move on to the next issue(s).  Obama won this match and his buddies in the Senate have us in a death grip so it is time to tap out.

Like I told Danica Patrick a few days ago, “. . . it’s time to give up the oval. The Good Old Boys are never going to let you win a NASCAR race. . . . I’m sorry.  I know it is your first love, but it just can’t be any fun going around in circles, and going around in circles, and going around in circles, and going around in circles.”

As we lose this bout, I am reminded of a couple of my neighbors who are real “bounders.”  One is probably a druggie, and the other is a pushy, noisy, nose-in-your-face busy body.  She even has a restraining order against her from another neighbor!  It is hard to deal with these folks, but I have adopted this philosophy – if they are as bad as I think they are, their actions and attitudes WILL catch up with them.  Some day, some where, when they least expect it, fate will collect them up to answer for their behaviours.  I do not need to get myself involved.

Fate will take care of things for me.

Republicans, I agree Obamacare is a monstrosity.  If the 100 unintended consequences of Andrew Johnson are correct, Obamacare will hang itself.  Hoisted on its own petard. Fate will take care of things for us.

If Obamacare is good for the land, so be it.  For now we are pinned to the mat.  Let us live on to fight another day.

Leave a Reply

