Home

In March of 1991, I fell to my bedroom floor in agony.  I was throwing up and moaning out loud.  After an operation, I gave up my first kidney stone.  I have passed, or had operations on, over two dozen of the calcium oxalate crystals since.  My last stone passed August 25.  Yet another is trying to get out as we speak.  In other words, I have chronic kidney stones.

The first handout I received in 1991 told me to REDUCE my calcium intake.  Another handout down the road told me to INCREASE my calcium level.

With a bad heart, high cholesterol, and high potassium levels, I have a food chart giving me a list of recommended foods, and foods I should avoid.

My kidney stone det says avoid soy, period.  Soy, soy products, and tofu.

I have never asked “why?” I just try to do what the doctors tell me to do.

No soy.  That is easier said than done.  Soy is all over the place, and almost impossible to avoid in processed foods.

soyHere are some quotes from an article by Mary Vance in the September 2013 EXPERIENCE LIFE magazine titled, “Soy: to eat or not to eat.”

“I spent years cultivating a vegetarian diet that included enough protein to fuel my busy lifestyle. I knew products made from soybeans were high in protein and a good source of B vitamins, so I strove to eat soy daily — soymilk, soy yogurt, tofu, soy hot dogs, you name it. I usually avoided products with ingredients I could not pronounce, but if they were attached to soy, I let it slide.”

“I decided to become a certified nutrition consultant specializing in holistic health. In my classes, I kept running across studies that talked about the wide range of risks associated with eating soy: endocrine disruption, digestive problems, infertility, decreased sex drive — and even the potential to contribute to certain cancers.”

“Even if you don’t drink soymilk or eat tofu, chances are you are still consuming soy routinely — in many cases, daily. Soybean oil has become the base for most vegetable oils; soy lecithin, the waste product left over after the soybean is processed, is used as an emulsifier; soy flour appears in baked and packaged goods; different forms of processed soy protein are added to everything from veggie burgers to muscle-building protein powders to animal feed.”

This sentence in particular caught my attention: “Up to a staggering 91 percent of soybeans are genetically modified in the United States, according to the Center for Food Safety.”

“Fermenting soy makes it easier to digest and creates health-promoting probiotics, the good bacteria our bodies need to maintain digestive and overall wellness.  By contrast, most of the soy consumed in the United States is both unfermented and processed.”

“Soy (infant) formula also contains large amounts of manganese, which has been linked to attention deficit disorder and neurotoxicity in infants. In 2005 the Israeli health ministry issued an advisory stating that infants should avoid soy formula altogether. Shortly after, the French Food Agency, German Institute of Risk Assessment and British Dietetic Association all followed suit, warning their citizens of the dangers associated with soy-based infant formula.”

The magazine editors came up with some basic advice about soy:

AVOID: chemically processed soy products like soymilk, soy protein, and soybean oil.

USE WITH CAUTION: tofu, edamame, and soy sauce

GO AHEAD: miso, tempeh, and natto

As I have pointed out previously in this blog, read the ingredient labels of everything you buy.  Everything.  You just might be shocked.

Also, read up and learn all you can about Genetically Modified foods.  You do NOT want to eat them.

COMPLETE ARTICLE

Leave a Reply

