Home

Ever try acupuncture?

Nah, me neither.  Too many needles.

Ever try meditation?

Well, I can’t slow my mind down enough.  If I COULD  zone out, I’m afraid I would fall asleep.

TappingMaybe, just maybe, EFT might work.

“Tapping, or the Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT), is a mash-up of ancient Chinese acupressure and modern psychology that is thought to help quell everything from chronic pain to serious addictions. Participants use their fingertips to tap gently and repeatedly on a sequence of meridian points on the body (under the eye, on the collarbone, etc.). While executing the exercise, they repeat a short phrase related to the issue they are trying to address.” (all quotes from EXPERIENCE LIFE MAGAZINE, link below.)

If you have never heard of tapping, just tap the word into Goggle, along with “EFT” and you may be surprised!  It makes me feel out-of-the-loop.  Where have I been all these years?

“When we have a stressful situation, the fight-or-flight response is activated in our body,” says Nick Ortner, author of The Tapping Solution: A Revolutionary System for Stress-Free Living (Hay House, 2013). “But when we tap on these endpoints, we send a calming signal to the amygdala and rewire the brain and the body to react differently.

“Typically, people focus on one of two areas of psychological strain while tapping: daily stressors, like a problem at work or an argument with a partner, and old traumas that gnaw away at the subconscious and make concentration a challenge. Ortner recommends EFT when the day’s problems start to mount and notes that, while new practitioners may want to engage in the process more frequently to “clean up” deep-seated issues, most people report a calming shift after just one five- or 10-minute session. To learn more about tapping, check out the free e-book or download a free e-book from www.thetappingsolution.com.

“To view a video from TheTappingSolution, click here!”

Share your experiences – thoughts – comments below.

EXPERIENCE LIFE MAGAZINE

One thought on “Tap, tap, you in there?

  1. EFT is quite an amazing technique! I’ve had (and helped clients achieve) immediate relief from things like pain, cravings, anxiety, even hunger!

    Even more impressive than the long term energy corrections that can occur with tapping on deeper issues, are the unintended benefits tapping can achieve.

    I’ve used EFT for myself, working on self-esteem, confidence, anxiety, you name it, but never once have I address any phobias. Turns out I didn’t need to!

    A long term disgust, dislike, even fear of snakes had me balling up on my couch with my eyes covered when presented unexpectedly by a snake on the tv screen, book pages were quickly shuffled through to pass an image of a snake. I’m pretty sure I’ve even run on water in order to get away from a harmless water snake!

    But my own path to personal contentment and healing through tapping seems to have had the extra benefit of addressing that little issue as well. Mind you, I won’t be tattooing a snake around my arm or using one as a boa, but I find that my viewing experiences are not altered by the presence of a snake. A mild dislike and a healthy respect for the danger remains, and I haven’t tested the changed feelings in real life, but I believe it wouldn’t be as bad as the past would indicate.

    I also work with clients (many children, who respond very positively and quickly to EFT, which I love because they then stand a better chance at not carrying so much baggage into adulthood) and the results of this simple tapping technique are immeasurable, plus it’s a technique they can walk away from a session with. Who doesn’t want to feel they’re working on their issues in between sessions?

    Thanks for posting this! I wish everyone could know about this technique and benefit 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

